USAMLB - Major League Baseball Teams


Major League Baseball

Major League Baseball (MLB) is the highest level of play in North American professional baseball. Specifically, Major League Baseball refers to the organization that operates the National League and the American League, by means of a joint organizational structure that has developed gradually between them since 1901 (the National League having been in existence since 1876). In 2000, the two leagues were officially disbanded as separate legal entities with all their rights and functions consolidated in the commissioner's office. MLB effectively operates as a single league and as such it constitutes one of the major professional sports leagues of the United States. It is currently composed of 30 teams—29 in the United States and one in Canada. In conjunction with the International Baseball Federation, the MLB also manages the World Baseball Classic.

Each season consists of 162 games (with an additional game, or games, in case of a tie breaker needed to determine postseason participation), which generally begins on the first Sunday in April and ends on the first Sunday in October, with the postseason played in October and sometimes into early November. The same rules and regulations are played between the two leagues with one exception: the American League operates under the Designated Hitter Rule, while the National League does not. Utilization of the DH Rule in interleague play, the All-Star and World Series games is determined by the home team's league rules.

MLB is controlled by the Major League Baseball Constitution that has undergone several incarnations since 1876 with the most recent revisions being made in 2005. Under the direction of Commissioner of Baseball (currently Bud Selig), Major League Baseball hires and maintains the sport's umpiring crews, and negotiates marketing, labor, and television contracts. As is the case for most of the sports leagues in the United States and Canada, the "closed shop" aspect of MLB effectively prevents the yearly promotion and relegation of teams into and out of Major League Baseball by virtue of their performance. Major League Baseball maintains a unique, controlling relationship over the sport, including most aspects of minor league baseball. This is due in large part to a 1922 U.S. Supreme Court ruling in Federal Baseball Club v. National League, which held that baseball is not interstate commerce and therefore not subject to federal antitrust law. This ruling has been weakened only slightly in subsequent years.

The production/multimedia wing of MLB is New York-based MLB Advanced Media, which oversees and all 30 of the individual teams' websites. Its charter states that MLB Advanced Media holds editorial independence from the League itself, but it is indeed under the same ownership group and revenue-sharing plan. MLB Productions is a similarly-structured wing of the league, focusing on video and traditional broadcast media.

Team Roster

Anaheim Angels Team Logo

• Anaheim Angels (MLB) Website - Anaheim

Arizona Diamondbacks Team Logo

• Arizona Diamondbacks (MLB) - Phoenix

Baltimore Orioles Team Logo

• Baltimore Orioles (MLB) - Baltimore

Boston Red Sox Team Logo

• Boston Red Sox (MLB) - Boston

Chicago Cubs Team Logo

• Chicago Cubs (MLB) - Chicago

 Chicago White Sox Team Logo

• Chicago White Sox (MLB) - Chicago

Cincinnati Reds Team Logo

• Cincinnati Reds (MLB) - Cincinnati

Cleveland Indians Team Logo

• Cleveland Indians (MLB) - Cleveland

Colorado Rockies Team Logo

• Colorado Rockies (MLB) Website - Denver

Detroit Tigers Team Logo

• Detroit Tigers (MLB) - Detroit

Florida Marlins Team Logo

• Florida Marlins (MLB) Website - Miami

Houston Astros Team Logo

• Houston Astros (MLB) - Houston

Kansas City Royals Team Logo

• Kansas City Royals (MLB) - Kansas City

LA Dodgers Team Logo

• LA Dodgers (MLB) Website - Los Angeles

Milwaukee Brewers Team Logo

• Milwaukee Brewers (MLB) - Milwaukee&

Minnesota Twins Team Logo

• Minnesota Twins (MLB) - Minneapolis

New York Mets Team Logo

• New York Mets (MLB) - New York City

New York Yankees Team Logo

• New York Yankees (MLB) - New York City

Oakland A's Team Logo

• Oakland A's (MLB) Website' - Oakland

Philadelphia Phillies Team Logo

• Philadelphia Phillies (MLB) - Philadelphia

Pittsburgh Pirates Team Logo

• Pittsburgh Pirates (MLB) - Pittsburgh

San Diego Padres Team Logo

• San Diego Padres (MLB) Website - San Diego

San Francisco Giants Team Logo

• San Francisco Giants (MLB) Website - San Francisco

Seattle Mariners Team Logo

• Seattle Mariners (MLB) - Seattle

St Louis Cardinals Team Logo

• St Louis Cardinals (MLB) - St Louis

Tampa Bay Devil Rays Team Logo

• Tampa Bay Devil Rays (MLB) Website - Tampa Bay

Texas Rangers Team Logo

• Texas Rangers (MLB) - Arlington

Toronto BlueJays
• Toronto Blue Jays Fan Gear
• Toronto Blue Jays Books
Washington Nationals
• Washington Nationals Fan Gear
• Washington Nationals Books