Colleges and Universities of Hawaii

Honolulu Community College

Graduates from secondary schools in Hawaii often go directly into the workforce. Some attend colleges and universities on the mainland or other countries, and the rest attend a college in Hawaii. The largest is the system of the University of Hawaii, consisting of: the research university in Mānoa, two comprehensive campuses in Hilo and West O'ahu and seven community colleges. Private universities include Brigham Young University-Hawaii, Chaminade University of Honolulu, Hawaii Pacific University, and Wayland Baptist University. St. Stephen Diocesan Center is a seminary of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Honolulu. Kona is home to the University of Nations, which is not an accredited university.

Brigham Young University - Hawaii • The LDS Church was established in the islands in 1850 following the Edict of Toleration promulgated by Kamehameha III, giving the underground Hawai‘i Catholic Church the right to worship, while at the same time allowing other faith traditions to begin establishing themselves. By 1919, the church was prominent enough in the area to build a temple in Laie. Brigham Young Collectables

Chaminade University of Honolulu • Chaminade University of Honolulu was founded in 1955 under the guidance of five Marianists eager to establish a Catholic institution of higher education in Hawai`i. Initially, Chaminade started out as a two-year college, St. Louis Junior College, and welcomed thirty young men to the inaugural class. Within two years, the school expanded to a four-year, co-educational intuition and changed its name to Chaminade College. In 1977, the university finalized its evolution, adding graduate programs to become Chaminade University of Honolulu.
Hawaii Pacific University • HPU was founded in 1965 as Hawaiʻi Pacific College by Paul C.T. Loo, Eureka Forbes, Elizabeth W. Kellerman, and Reverend Edmond Walker. Wanting a private liberal arts college in Honolulu, the four prominent and public-spirited citizens applied for a charter of incorporation for a not-for-profit corporation to be called Hawaiʻi Pacific College. The state of Hawaiʻi granted a charter of incorporation to Hawaiʻi Pacific on September 17, 1965. In September 1966, Honolulu Christian College established in 1949 merged into Hawaiʻi Pacific College, and a new charter was granted by the state of Hawaiʻi. Hawaii Pacific Collectables
University of Hawaii - Hilo • It is one of ten branches of the University of Hawaiʻi system. It was founded as Hawaiʻi Vocational College (Hawaiʻi College) in 1941. In 1970 it was reorganized by an act of the Hawaiʻi State Legislature. The university has been accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges since 1976. It offers thirty-three undergraduate and three graduate degree programs, and has about 3000 students; most are residents of Hawaiʻi, but there are also international students. University of Hawaii Collectables
University of Hawaii - Manoa • The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa was founded in 1907 under the Morrill Act as a land-grant college of agriculture and mechanic arts. Regular classes began the following year with President John Gilmore at the helm and five freshmen, five preparatory students, and 13 faculty in temporary quarters near Honolulu’s Thomas Square. In 1912 the newly-named College of Hawaiʻi relocated to Mānoa Valley and the first permanent building—known today as Hawaiʻi Hall—was erected amid pig farms and kiawe groves. The college became the University of Hawaiʻi in 1920 with the addition of a College of Arts and Sciences

Hawaii Colleges and Universities . Hawaii Colleges and Universities